Even after purchasing Illinois Car Insurance | illinois-insurance.website, you may want to consider adding onto the basic coverage plan which only includes liability and uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. These basic coverage plans only cover the other people involved in an accident or the bodily injuries sustained in an accident with someone without insurance. This means that your car and your injuries will not be covered if you are at fault and that requires more coverage to ensure your injuries or damages will be repaired or replaced. Adding onto a basic plan is a good way to start and always keeping your insurance coverage just above the state requirement is highly recommended.
There are many additional coverage options that you can look into adding to your state require insurance that will help you to cover not only damages to your car and property, but also bodily injuring in the event of an accident. For example, you may find collision coverage to be especially helpful in repairing or replacing your car in an accident or medical payments coverage to assist in covering your medical treatments in the case of an accident. Many people even add comprehensive coverage for non-accident related damages to your vehicle as well such as hail damage or vandalism.
Punishment for Not Possessing Insurance
There are many ways that you can get caught not carrying insurance in the state of Illinois such as random questionnaires and non-verification at a traffic stop or accident. When you receive one of these random questionnaires, you will need to provide the name of your insurance provider and your policy number to verify your coverage. If the information does not check out with your insurance provider, the state will suspend your plates and you will be unable to use or drive your vehicle. In the case of a traffic stop you can end up with a variety of punishments for not possessing insurance such as suspension of your plates, a minimum or a $500 fine, a minimum of $1,000 fine due to driving on suspended plates, and possible suspension of your driver’s license. You will also have to go through many steps to have your plates reinstated such as a $100 reinstatement fee. If you have multiple offenses you may have to endure a minimum of 4 months without use of your own vehicle before you can have the plates reinstated.